COTSWOLD DISTRICT COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

15TH MAY 2018

Present:

Councillor Julian Beale - Chairman
Councillor David Fowles - Vice-Chairman

Councillors -

SI Andrews Jenny Hincks
Mark F Annett SG Hirst
AW Berry RC Hughes
AR Brassington RL Hughes
T Cheung RG Keeling

Sue Coakley MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

Alison Coggins RA Morgan PCB Coleman Dilys Neill **NJW Parsons Andrew Doherty SDE Parsons RW Dutton** Jenny Forde **NP Robbins** JA Harris Lynden Stowe R Theodoulou M Harris LR Wilkins Maggie Heaven

Apologies:

C Hancock Juliet Layton
Mrs. SL Jepson TL Stevenson

CL.1 <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

There were no Declarations of Interest from Members under either the Code of Conduct or Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992.

There were no declarations of interest by Officers.

CL.2 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL</u>

The Vice-Chairman of the Council took the Chair for this item as the Chairman was seeking re-election to such position.

The Head of Democratic Services reported/invited nominations for Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Julian Beale had been Proposed by Councillor RL Hughes and Seconded by Councillor MGE MacKenzie-Charrington.

In the absence of further nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Julian Beale be elected Chairman of the Council, to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2019.

Notes:

- (i) Councillor Beale read out his Declaration of Office, which he duly signed.
- (ii) Councillor Beale then took the Chair.
- (iii) Councillor Beale thanked Members for re-electing him as Chairman of the Council and stated that he would continue to undertake his responsibilities to the best of his ability.
- (iv) Councillor Beale welcomed the Honorary Aldermen who were present, together with all others in the 'public gallery'.

CL.3 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Head of Democratic Services reported/invited nominations.

Councillor David Fowles had been Proposed by Councillor MGE MacKenzie-Charrington and Seconded by Councillor SG Hirst.

In the absence of further nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor David Fowles be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council, to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2019.

Notes:

- (i) Councillor Fowles then read out his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which he duly signed.
- (ii) Councillor Fowles thanked Members for re-appointing him as Vice-Chairman of the Council and stated that he would continue to undertake his responsibilities to the best of his ability.

CL.4 <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN, LEADER OR HEAD OF PAID SERVICE</u>

There were no announcements from the Chairman, Leader or Head of Paid Service.

CL.5 RECORD OF ATTENDANCES

The Council received the Record of Attendances at Meetings during the past Council Year.

A number of Members expressed the view that the Record of Attendances should include Members' attendance at working groups and outside bodies, e.g. the Cirencester Parking Board and Local Plan Programme Board which had met monthly and been attended by a number of Members. In response, the Head of Paid Service confirmed that such details could be incorporated if Members so wished

Councillor JA Harris, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, expressed the view that four Council Meetings per year was not sufficient and suggested that this be increased to six per year, to ensure that those Members who did not serve on the Cabinet or any of the Council's Committees had an opportunity to voice their concerns and play an active role in formal meetings.

CL.6 LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was noted that, at the Annual Meeting of the Council on 16th May 2017, Councillor Mark F Annett had been elected Leader of the Council (and Chairman of the Cabinet), to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2019.

CL.7 APPOINTMENT OF THE CABINET

It was noted that Councillor Mark F Annett, as Leader of the Council, had made the following Cabinet appointments for the 2018/19 Council Year:-

Mark F Annett (Leader) Resources

NJW Parsons (Deputy Leader) Forward Planning

Sue Coakley Environment

C Hancock Enterprise and Partnerships

SG Hirst Housing, Health and Leisure

MGE MacKenzie-Charrington Planning and Licensing Services and Cirencester Car Parking Project

The Leader explained that details of the Portfolio areas, including a breakdown of the responsibilities, would be circulated in due course.

CL.8 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

The Council was requested to make appointments to the various Committees of the Council for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

Attention was drawn to the circulated Briefing Note, which set out the allocations of each of the political groups within the Council to the various Committees. In this connection, the Head of Democratic Services apologized for the fact that such Briefing Note contained an error - in that Councillor Dilys Neill was to be one of the Liberal Democrat Group representatives on the Planning and Licensing Committee, and not Councillor Andrew Doherty.

RESOLVED that, subject to the amendment identified by the Head of Democratic Services, the Committee appointments for 2018/19 be confirmed.

Record of Voting - for 30, against 0, abstentions 0, absent 4.

Note:

Details of the various appointments are set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

CL.9 OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business that was urgent.

Note:

The Chairman reminded Members that all Committees would meet at the conclusion of the Council Meeting to deal with their respective Chairman and/or Vice-Chairman elections/appointments.

The Meeting commenced at 12.40 p.m. and closed at 12.55 p.m.

Chairman

(END)

APPENDIX

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES - COUNCIL YEAR 2018/19

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (10): SI Andrews

AW Berry

Sue Coakley

Alison Coggins

RW Dutton

David Fowles

SG Hirst

RL Hughes

MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

LR Wilkins

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (5): AR Brassington

PCB Coleman

RC Hughes

Juliet Layton

Dilys Neill

Total Members: 15

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (4): SI Andrews

RG Keeling

RA Morgan

SDE Parsons

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (3): Andrew Doherty

Jenny Forde

NP Robbins

Total Members: 7

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Conservative (Group	Representation	(3):	AW Berry
----------------	-------	----------------	------	----------

R Theodoulou

LR Wilkins

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): T Cheung

Andrew Doherty

Total Members: 5

(END)