COTSWOLD DISTRICT COUNCIL

COUNCIL (SPECIAL MEETING)

20TH DECEMBER 2017

Present:

Councillor Julian Beale - Chairman
Councillor David Fowles - Vice-Chairman

Councillors -

SI Andrews SG Hirst
AW Berry RL Hughes
AR Brassington Mrs. SL Jepson
T Cheung RG Keeling
Sue Coakley Juliet Layton

Alison Coggins MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

PCB Coleman RA Morgan Andrew Doherty Dilvs Neill **NJW Parsons** RW Dutton Jenny Forde SDE Parsons C Hancock **NP Robbins** JA Harris Tina Stevenson M Harris Lynden Stowe R Theodoulou Maggie Heaven LR Wilkins Jenny Hincks

Apologies:

Mark F Annett RC Hughes

CL.61 CONFERMENT OF TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chairman of the Council welcome distinguished guests to this very special occasion, particularly Honorary Alderman Mrs. Shelia Jeffery who was present; and extended a special welcome to Keith Parsons (son of the late Councillor Jim Parsons) and his partner, Carole Phelps.

The Chairman stated that this was a bitter sweet occasion in that the Council was delighted to be able to come together to recognise the outstanding contribution and service of Jim Parsons but at the same time it was with extreme regret that Jim was unable to accept such a richly deserved award in person.

The Chairman then formally Proposed the Motion that appeared on the agenda papers, the Vice-Chairman of the Council formally Seconded such Motion, and it was

RESOLVED, unanimously, that pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon

Jim Parsons in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the Council and the community over many years.

Record of Voting - for 32, against 0, abstentions 0, absent 2.

The Chairman of the Council made reference to the valuable service rendered by Jim and, in so doing, provided a summary which covered length of service, committee etc. memberships, positions held, and external representations. His manner of common sense and great humour had meant he had always been a great help to those around him, regardless of political position.

Councillor NJW Parsons, Deputy Leader of the Council, added his own tribute, commenting on the fact that he had represented the Ward which Jim served prior to the boundary review in 2015 which resulted in the creation of the Grumbolds Ash with Avening Ward. Councillor Parsons drew attention to Jim's desire to improve the ambulance service and his work in conjunction with many outside bodies including Fosseway Housing, Cirencester Citizens Advice, Cirencester Age Concern and the Cotswold Canals Trust. Councillor Parsons concluded by saying it had been a great pleasure to serve alongside Jim for so many years.

Councillor JA Harris, as Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, added his own tribute, saying he had worked alongside Jim as part of the Gloucestershire Health and Overview Scrutiny Committee, where Jim had cut through the politics to ensure common sense prevailed. Councillor Harris added that, aside from the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman, the greatest tribute to Jim would be to continue the campaign for improvement of ambulance services across the District.

Other Members added their own tributes; recalling the great respect residents had for Jim both for his work as a Parish and District Councillor and also for his social contribution to the village of Avening, making reference to Jim's musical talents.

Mr Adams, the Head of Paid Service, added that Jim had been the 'father of the house' figure for Members and referred to his unstinting commitment to, and support for, the Council's staff. Mr Adams stated that the number of kind messages received had been unprecedented, but reflected that this was only what would have been expected for someone best described as a true gentleman.

The Chairman of the Council then presented Keith Parsons with a medallion and certificate in recognition of the award to Jim. In accepting the award, Keith and Carole responded to the kind words of the Chairman and other Members, and thanked the Council for the award.

The Meeting commenced at 11.50 a.m. and closed at 12.10 p.m.

Chairman

(END)