CHAIRMEN ETC. NOMINATIONS AND COMMITTEE ETC. SELECTION 2016/2017

BRIEFING NOTE

(17TH MAY 2016)

BRIEFING NOTE

This Briefing Note contains details of the political groupings, Committee etc. allocations and the nominations for the various Chairmen etc. positions. Further nominations can be made up until, and/or at, the relevant Meeting.

Political Groupings Etc.

(1) I have been advised of the following Political Groupings within the Council (in accordance with the 'Widdicombe' Rules):-

Conservative

Councillors

SI Andrews
Mark F Annett
Julian Beale
Miss AM Beccle
AW Berry
Sue Coakley
Alison Coggins
BS Dare
RW Dutton
David Fowles
C Hancock

Maggie Heaven SG Hirst RL Hughes RG Keeling Mrs. SL Jepson

MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

Jim Parsons
NJW Parsons
SDE Parsons
Tina Stevenson
Lynden Stowe
R Theodoulou
LR Wilkins
Total: 24

Liberal Democrat

Councillors

AR Brassington
T Cheung
PCB Coleman
Jenny Forde
JA Harris
M Harris
RC Hughes
Jenny Hincks
Juliet Layton
NP Robbins
Total: 10

Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council

(2) The nominations received in respect of these positions (Annual Council Meeting, Agenda Items (3) and (4)) are attached - page 5.

Strong Leader and Cabinet Governance Arrangements

- (3) The Council operates the Strong Leader and Cabinet form of governance. The Cabinet comprises the Leader of the Council, together with up to nine other Members to be appointed by the Leader (one of whom shall be appointed as Deputy Leader). The Leader is elected by the Council, for a four-year term.
- (4) Councillor Lynden Stowe was elected Leader of the Council for the four-year term at the Annual Meeting of the Council held on 19th May 2015 (Minute CL.6 refers).
- (5) Councillor Stowe will make an oral report in relation to his appointments to the Cabinet. (Council Meeting Agenda Item (8) refers). Such appointments are purely for information/noting.

Committee Memberships (Annual Council Meeting Agenda Item (9))

- (6) With the exception of the Cabinet, the Regulations in respect of political proportionality on Committees will apply (the 'Widdicombe Rules').
- (7) Based on the number of Members across each group, the following allocation of seats is suggested across those Committees that are subject to the 'Widdicombe Rules':-

	Conservative (24)	Liberal Democrats (10)	Total
Planning and Licensing	11	4	15
Audit	3	2	5
Overview and Scrutiny	5	2	7
Total Seats	19	8	27

- (8) It is for the political groups to make their own decisions regarding the allocation of Committee places to their members (within the overall allocation of seats); and the allocations made are attached pages 8-10.
- (9) A Member of the Cabinet is <u>not able</u> also to serve on the Audit Committee or the Overview and Scrutiny Committee; but is able to serve on the Planning and Licensing Committee.
- (10) The Chairman of the Council is not able to serve on the Cabinet or any Committee.
- (11) The Vice-Chairman of the Council is <u>not able</u> to serve on the Cabinet; but is able to serve on any Committee.

Chairmen Etc. Nominations and Chairmanship Etc. Restrictions

- (12) The Chairman of the Council, by virtue of office, is <u>not eligible</u> to hold office as a Chairman of a Committee during his/her term.
- (13) No Member of the Cabinet is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman or Vice-Chairman of a Committee.
- (14) No Member of the Council is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman of more than one Committee at any time.
- (15) No Member of the Council is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman of the Council or the Chairman of any Committee for a continuous period of more than three years. Nor is he/she eligible to be a Chairman or Vice-Chairman of any Committee within one year of ceasing to hold office as Chairman of any Committee.
- (16) A nominee for election/appointment as a Chairman or Vice-Chairman (of either the Council or of a Committee), or as Leader of the Council, is not required to be present at the Meeting at which the election/appointment is to take place.
- (17) There is no requirement for a secret ballot to be held in respect of voting on Member appointments.
- (18) With the exception of the Planning and Licensing Committee, all Committee Vice-Chairmen positions have been dispensed with.
- (19) The nominations made in respect of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council, the various Committee Chairmen positions, and the Vice-Chairman of the Planning and Licensing Committee, are attached pages 11-13 (to be dealt with by each Committee in turn at the close of the Annual Council Meeting).

(END)

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016

Agenda Items (3) and (4)

Election/Appointment of Chairman/Vice-Chairman of the Council Council Year 2016/17

The following nominations have been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Council

Nominee <u>Proposer</u> <u>Seconder</u>

Mark F Annett Stephen Hirst Tony Berry

(ii) <u>Vice-Chairman of the Council</u>

Nominee Proposer Seconder

Julian Beale Mark F Annett Abagail Beccle

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016

Agenda Item (8)

Election of Leader of the Council - Council Years 2015/19

At the Annual Meeting of the Council on 19th May 2015, Councillor Lynden Stowe was elected Leader of the Council, to serve for the four-year term until May 2019.

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016 Agenda Item (9)

Appointment of Cabinet - Council Year 2016/17

The Leader will provide an oral update.

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016

Agenda Item (10)

Appointment of Committees - Council Year 2016/17

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (11): Miss AML Beccle

AW Berry

Sue Coakley

Alison Coggins

RW Dutton

David Fowles

SG Hirst

RL Hughes

Mrs. SL Jepson

MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

Tina Stevenson

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (4): AR Brassington

PCB Coleman

M Harris

Juliet Layton

Total Members: 15

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (5): SI Andrews

Julian Beale

RG Keeling

Jim Parsons

SDE Parsons

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): Jenny Forde

NP Robbins

Total Members: 7

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (3): AW Berry

R Theodoulou

LR Wilkins

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): PCB Coleman

T Cheung

Total Members: 5

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016 Agenda Items (3) and (4)

Election/Appointment of Chairman/Vice-Chairman of the Planning and Licensing Committee Council Year 2016/17

The following nominations have been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Committee

Nominee <u>Proposer</u> <u>Seconder</u>

SG Hirst Robin Hughes Robert Dutton

(ii) <u>Vice-Chairman of the Committee</u>

Nominee <u>Proposer</u> <u>Seconder</u>

Miss AM Beccle Sue Jepson Sue Coakley

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016

Agenda item (3)

Election of Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee Council Year 2016/17

The following nomination has been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Committee

<u>Nominee</u>	<u>Proposer</u>	<u>Seconder</u>
Jenny Forde	Nigel Robbins	Jim Parsons

AUDIT COMMITTEE MEETING - 17TH MAY 2016

Agenda Item (3)

Election of Chairman of the Audit Committee Council Year 2016/17

The following nomination has been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Committee

Nominee	<u>Proposer</u>	<u>Seconder</u>
LR Wilkins	R Theodoulou	AW Berry

(END)