COTSWOLD DISTRICT COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

17TH MAY 2016

Present:

Councillor Mark F Annett - Chairman
Councillor Julian Beale - Vice-Chairman

Councillors -

SI Andrews SG Hirst
Miss AML Beccle RC Hughes
AW Berry RL Hughes
T Cheung Mrs SL Jepson
Sue Coakley Juliet Layton

Alison Coggins MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

PCB Coleman Jim Parsons **NJW Parsons RW Dutton** Jenny Forde **SDE Parsons** David Fowles **NP Robbins** C Hancock Tina Stevenson JA Harris Lynden Stowe Maggie Heaven R Theodoulou Jenny Hincks LR Wilkins

Apologies:

AR Brassington M Harris
BS Dare RG Keeling

CL.1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest from Members under either the Code of Conduct or Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992.

There were no declarations of interest by Officers.

CL.2 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Vice-Chairman of the Council took the Chair for this item as the Chairman was seeking re-election to such position.

The Head of Democratic Services reported/invited nominations for Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mark F Annett had been Proposed by Councillor SG Hirst and Seconded by Councillor AW Berry.

In the absence of further nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Mark F Annett be elected Chairman of the Council, to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2017.

Notes:

- (i) Councillor Annett read out his Declaration of Office, which he duly signed.
- (ii) Councillor Annett then took the Chair.
- (iii) Councillor Annett thanked Members for electing him as Chairman of the Council and stated that he would continue to undertake his responsibilities to the best of his ability.
- (iv) Councillor Annett welcomed the Honorary Aldermen who were present, together with all others in the 'public gallery'.

CL.3 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Head of Democratic Services reported/invited nominations.

Councillor Julian Beale had been Proposed by Councillor Mark F Annett and Seconded by Councillor Miss AML Beccle.

In the absence of further nominations, it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Julian Beale be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council, to hold Office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2017.

Note:

Councillor Beale then read out his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, which he duly signed.

CL.4 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN, LEADER OR HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

(i) The Chairman of the Council presented Honorary Alderman Deryck Nash with a medallion and certificate in recognition of his appointment as Honorary Alderman at the Special Meeting held on 15th December 2015.

The Leader of the Council made reference to the valuable service rendered by Mr. Nash, who had been committed to serving Cirencester across Gloucestershire County Council, this Council and Cirencester Town Council. Councillor JA Harris, as Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group endorsed the sentiments expressed by the Leader and made reference to the magnificent contribution made by former Councillor Nash to the community, and to local government generally in Gloucestershire.

(ii) The Chairman explained that Mr. Danny Kent, the 2015 Moto 3 World Champion, had been unable to attend the Meeting to receive an 'outstanding achievement' award, due to ill-health. A formal presentation would be re-arranged at a convenient date/time.

There were no announcements from the Head of Paid Service.

CL.5 RECORD OF ATTENDANCES

The Council received the Record of Attendances at Meetings during the past Council Year.

CL.6 LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was noted that, at the Annual Meeting of the Council held on 19th May 2015, Councillor Lynden Stowe had been elected Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Cabinet, to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2019 (Minute CL.6 of 19th May 2015 referred).

CL.7 APPOINTMENT OF THE CABINET

The Leader explained that he was likely to increase the Cabinet to seven Members and that details of the membership and Portfolio areas, including a breakdown of the responsibilities, would be circulated in due course.

CL.8 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

The Council was requested to make appointments to the various Committees of the Council for the 2016/17 Municipal Year.

Attention was drawn to the Briefing Note from the Head of Democratic Services, which set out the allocations of each of the political groups within the Council to the various Committee and it was

RESOLVED that the Committee appointments for 2016/17 be confirmed.

Record of Voting - for 30, against 0, abstentions 0, absent 5.

Note:

Details of the various appointments are set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

CL.9 OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business that was urgent.

Note:

The Chairman reminded Members that all Committees would meet at the conclusion of the Council Meeting to make their respective Chairman/Vice-Chairman elections/appointments.

The Meeting commenced at 12.30 p.m. and closed at 12.45 p.m.

Chairman

(END)

APPENDIX 'A'

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES - COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (11): Miss AML Beccle

AW Berry

Sue Coakley

Alison Coggins

RW Dutton

David Fowles

SG Hirst

RL Hughes

Mrs SL Jepson

MGE Mackenzie-Charrington

Tina Stevenson

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (4): AR Brassington

PCB Coleman

M Harris

Juliet Layton

Total Members: 15

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (5): SI Andrews

Julian Beale

RG Keeling

Jim Parsons

SDE Parsons

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): Jenny Forde

NP Robbins

Total Members: 7

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (3): AW Berry

R Theodoulou

LR Wilkins

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): PCB Coleman

T Cheung

Total Members: 5

(END)