COTSWOLD DISTRICT COUNCIL

COUNCIL (SPECIAL MEETING)

15TH DECEMBER 2015

Present:

Councillor Mark F Annett - Chairman

Councillors -

SI Andrews Jenny Hincks
Miss AML Beccle RL Hughes
AW Berry Mrs. SL Jepson
AR Brassington RG Keeling
T Cheung Juliet Layton

Alison Coggins MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

PCB Coleman
RW Dutton
SDE Parsons
Jenny Forde
David Fowles
C Hancock
JA Harris
MJW Parsons
SDE Parsons
NP Robbins
Tina Stevenson
Lynden Stowe
R Theodoulou
LR Wilkins

Apologies:

Julian Beale SG Hirst
Sue Coakley RC Hughes
BS Dare Jim Parsons

Maggie Heaven

CL.42 CONFERMENT OF TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chairman of the Council welcomed distinguished guests to what was a very special occasion, and expressed his delight that so many people had been able to come together to recognise the contributions made and service rendered by the twelve former Councillors who had been proposed for the title of Honorary Alderman.

The Chairman reported, with regret, that former Councillor Deryck Nash had been unable to be present due to a long-standing commitment away from Cirencester. A formal presentation would be arranged at a convenient date/time.

The Chairman then formally Proposed the Motion that appeared on the agenda papers, the Leader of the Council formally Seconded such Motion, and it was

RESOLVED, unanimously, that pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Aldermen be conferred upon Clive Bennett, JGK Birch, DC Broad, John Burgess, Sandra Carter, BD Gibbs, Sir Edward Horsfall, Mrs. Sheila Jeffery, DJ Nash, Mrs. Carolyn Nicolle, David

Council (Special Meeting)

Penman and Mrs. CH Topple in recognition of the eminent services rendered by them to the Council and the community over many years.

Record of Voting - for 27, against 0, abstentions 0, absent 7.

The Leader of the Council made reference to the valuable services rendered by those former Councillors who had been nominated for the title of Honorary Alderman and, in so doing, provided a summary in respect of each which covered length of service, committee etc. memberships, positions held, and external representation. Councillor JA Harris, as Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, added his own comments in relation to the nominees; as did other Members on occasion.

The Chairman of the Council then presented each of the newly-appointed Honorary Aldermen, in turn, with a medallion and certificate in recognition of such award. In accepting their awards, each new Honorary Alderman responded to the kind words of the Chairman and other Members.

The Meeting commenced at 11.40 a.m. and closed at 12.40 p.m.

Chairman

(END)