

## 29<sup>TH</sup> SEPTEMBER 2015

COUNCIL

AGENDA ITEM (11)

## APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

Accountable Member	Council
Accountable Officer	Nigel Adams Head of Democratic Services 01285 623202 nigel.adams@cotswold.gov.uk

Purpose of Report	To consider the appointment of Honorary Aldermen.
Recommendations	(a) That former Councillors Clive Bennett; JGK Birch; DC Broad; John Burgess; Sandra Carter; BD Gibbs; Sir Edward Horsfall; Mrs. Sheila Jeffery; DJ Nash; Mrs. Carolyn Nicolle; David Penman; and Mrs. CH Topple be proposed for the title of Honorary Alderman;
	(b) that a Special Meeting of the Council be held on Tuesday 15 <sup>th</sup> December 2015 (at the conclusion of the ordinary Council Meeting scheduled on that date, to bestow the title on the former Councillors identified.
Reason fo <del>r</del> Recommendation	Former Councillors Clive Bennett; JGK Birch; DC Broad; John Burgess; Sandra Carter; BD Gibbs; Sir Edward Horsfall; Mrs. Sheila Jeffery; DJ Nash; Mrs. Carolyn Nicolle; David Penman; and Mrs. CH Topple meet the Council's requirements for automatic consideration for the title of Honorary Alderman.
	The resolution to confer the title of Honorary Alderman has to be passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting at a specially-convened Council Meeting.

Ward(s) Affected	N/A
Key Decision	No
Recommendation to Council	N/A

Financial Implications	A Special Meeting of the Council has to be convened to bestow the title of Honorary Alderman. Honorary Aldermen are also presented with medallions. The associated costs can be met from within existing budgets.
Legal and Human Rights Implications	None

Environmental and Sustainability Implications	None
Human Resource Implications	None
Key Risks	None
Equalities Analysis	Not required

Related Decisions	Minute 19 - Special Council Meeting - 5 <sup>th</sup> June 2003
Background Documents	None
Appendices	None

Performance Management	Implement the Council's decision(s)
Follow Up	

## Background Information

1. The Council may, under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Councillors who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to it as former Members. The resolution to confer the title of Honorary Alderman has to be passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting at a specially-convened Council Meeting.

2. In the past, the Council has adopted a points system to determine eligibility. The current scheme is as follows:-

each year as an Elected Member of the Cotswold District Council or its predecessors - 1 point;

each year as Chairman of one of the main Committees - 2 points; each year as Chairman of the Council (pre September 2001) - 3 points; each year as Chairman of the Council (post September 2001) - 2 points; each year as Vice-Chairman of the Council (post June 2003) - 2 points; each year as Leader of the Council - 3 points; each year as Deputy Leader of the Council - 2 points; each year as Portfolio Holder/Cabinet Member - 2 points.

3. The Council has previously accepted that a former Councillor accruing 15 points or more would be automatically considered for the title.

4. Former Councillors Clive Bennett; JGK Birch; DC Broad; John Burgess; Sandra Carter; BD Gibbs; Sir Edward Horsfall; Mrs. Sheila Jeffery; DJ Nash; Mrs. Carolyn Nicolle; David Penman; and Mrs. CH Topple retired from, or were no re-elected to, the Council at the District Council elections held on 7<sup>th</sup> May 2015. Under the current points system, they are eligible for appointment as Honorary Aldermen.

5. The tile of Honorary Alderman was previously bestowed on former Councillor Hooper; and such award was automatically reinstated when he stood down in May 2015.

6. The Council has not ruled out, in **exceptional** circumstances, appointing as Honorary Aldermen individuals who may not have accrued the necessary points but have otherwise rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members.

7. However, 'exceptional' appointments are very rare, and records indicate that only two such aldermen appointments have been made since 1980. Against this background, but for completeness, in May 2015 there were only three other former councillors who had accrued more than 10, but less than 15, points - Mrs. VB Crosbie Dawson; Mrs. M Phillips; and Mrs. MS Rickman, with 14, 12 and 12 points respectively. No other former councillor accrued more than 8 points.

(END)