CHAIRMEN ETC. NOMINATIONS AND COMMITTEE ETC. SELECTION 2015/2016

BRIEFING NOTE

(19TH MAY 2015)

BRIEFING NOTE

This Briefing Note contains details of the political groupings, Committee etc. allocations and the nominations for the various Chairmen etc. positions. Further nominations can be made up until, and/or at, the relevant Meeting.

Political Groupings Etc.

(1) I have been advised of the following provisional Political Groupings within the Council (in accordance with the 'Widdicombe' Rules):-

Conservative

Councillors

SI Andrews MF Annett MJ Beale

Miss AM Beccle

AW Berry

Miss SM Coakley Miss AJ Coggins

BS Dare RW Dutton David Fowles C Hancock Mrs JM Heaven

SG Hirst RL Hughes RG Keeling Mrs. SL Jepson

MGE MacKenzie-Charrington

NJW Parsons SDE Parsons WJ Parsons Mrs TL Stevenson Lynden Stowe R Theodoulou LR Wilkins

Total: 24

Liberal Democrat

Councillors

AR Brassington T Cheung PCB Coleman Ms JC Forde JA Harris M Harris RC Hughes Mrs. JL Hincks Ms JM Layton NP Robbins

Total: 10

Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council

(2) The nominations received in respect of these positions (Annual Council Meeting, Agenda Items (3) and (4)) are attached - page 5.

Strong Leader and Cabinet Governance Arrangements

- (3) The Council operates the Strong Leader and Cabinet form of governance. The Cabinet comprises the Leader of the Council, together with up to nine other Members to be appointed by the Leader (one of whom shall be appointed as Deputy Leader). The Leader is elected by the Council, for a four-year term.
- (4) One nomination has been received thus far for the Leader of the Council, in respect of Councillor Lynden Stowe see **page 6**. This will be dealt with at Council Meeting Agenda Item (8)).
- (5) In the event of Councillor Stowe being elected Leader, his appointments to the Cabinet are also attached **page 7** (Council Meeting Agenda Item (9) refers). Such appointments are purely for information/noting.

Committee Memberships (Annual Council Meeting Agenda Item (10))

- (6) With the exception of the Cabinet, the Regulations in respect of political proportionality on Committees will apply (the 'Widdicombe Rules').
- (7) Based on the number of Members across each group, the following allocation of seats is suggested across those Committees that are subject to the 'Widdicombe Rules':-

	Conservative (24)	Liberal Democrats (10)	Total
Planning and Licensing	11	4	15
Audit	3	2	5
Overview and Scrutiny	5	2	7
Total Seats	19	8	27

- (8) It is for the political groups to make their own decisions regarding the allocation of Committee places to their members (within the overall allocation of seats); and the allocations made are attached pages 8-10.
- (9) A Member of the Cabinet is <u>not able</u> also to serve on the Audit Committee or the Overview and Scrutiny Committee; but is able to serve on the Planning and Licensing Committee.
- (10) The Chairman of the Council is not able to serve on the Cabinet or any Committee.
- (11) The Vice-Chairman of the Council is <u>not able</u> to serve on the Cabinet; but is able to serve on any Committee.

Chairmen Etc. Nominations and Chairmanship Etc. Restrictions

- (12) The Chairman of the Council, by virtue of office, is not eligible to hold office as a Chairman of a Committee during his/her term.
- (13) No Member of the Cabinet is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman or Vice-Chairman of a Committee.
- (14) No Member of the Council is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman of more than one Committee at any time.
- (15) No Member of the Council is entitled to hold the office of the Chairman of the Council or the Chairman of any Committee for a continuous period of more than three years. Nor is he/she eligible to be a Chairman or Vice-Chairman of any Committee within one year of ceasing to hold office as Chairman of any Committee.
- (16) A nominee for election/appointment as a Chairman or Vice-Chairman (of either the Council or of a Committee), or as Leader of the Council, is not required to be present at the Meeting at which the election/appointment is to take place.
- (17) There is no requirement for a secret ballot to be held in respect of voting on Member appointments.
- (18) With the exception of the Planning and Licensing Committee, all Committee Vice-Chairmen positions have been dispensed with.
- (19) The nominations made in respect of the various Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen positions, and Vice-Chairman of the Planning and Licensing Committee, are attached pages 11-13 (to be dealt with by each Committee in turn at the close of the Annual Council Meeting).

(END)

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015

Agenda Items (3) and (4)

Election/Appointment of Chairman/Vice-Chairman of the Council Council Year 2015/16

The following nominations have been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Council

Nominee Proposer Seconder

Mark Annett SG Hirst David Fowles

(ii) Vice-Chairman of the Council

Nominee Proposer Seconder

Julian Beale Mark Annett Sue Jepson

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015

Agenda Item (8)

Election of Leader of the Council - Council Years 2015/19

The following nomination has been received to date:-

Leader of the Council

Nominee Proposer Seconder

Lynden Stowe Nick Parsons Ray Theodoulou

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015

Agenda Item (9)

Appointment of Cabinet - Council Year 2015/16

If appointed as the Leader of the Council, Councillor Lynden Stowe intends to make the following Cabinet appointments:-

Councillor	Portfolio Area
Lynden Stowe (Leader)	-
NJW Parsons (Deputy Leader)	Forward Planning
Sue Coakley	Environment and Communities
C Hancock	Enterprise and Partnerships
Mrs. SL Jepson	Planning and Housing
1 no. to be advised	Health and Leisure

Total Members: 6

Note:

Details of the responsibilities within each portfolio area will be circulated, once finalised.

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015 Agenda Item (10)

Appointment of Committees - Council Year 2015/16

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (11):

Miss AML Beccle

AW Berry

Miss SM Coakley

Miss Alison Coggins

RW Dutton

JAD Fowles

SG Hirst

RL Hughes

Mrs. SL Jepson

MGE Mackenzie-Charrington

Mrs. TL Stevenson

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (4):

AR Brassington

JA Harris

M Harris

Ms JM Layton

Total Members: 15

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (5): SI Andrews

MJ Beale

RG Keeling

Jim Parsons

SDE Parsons

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): JA Harris

NP Robbins

Total Members: 7

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Conservative Group Representation (3): BS Dare

R Theodoulou

LR Wilkins

Liberal Democrat Group Representation (2): PCB Coleman

T Cheung

Total Members: 5

PLANNING AND LICENSING COMMITTEE MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015 Agenda Items (3) and (4)

Election/Appointment of Chairman/Vice-Chairman of the Planning and Licensing Committee Council Year 2015/16

The following nominations have been received to date:-

(i) <u>Chairman of the Committee</u>

Nominee Proposer <u>Seconder</u>

RL Hughes Robert Dutton Sue Coakley

(ii) <u>Vice-Chairman of the Committee</u>

Nominee Proposer Seconder

SG Hirst Robin Hughes Tina Stevenson

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MEETING - 19TH MAY 2015 Agenda Item (3)

Election of Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee <u>Council Year 2015/16</u>

The following nomination has been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Committee

Nominee Proposer

Seconder

Jim Parsons

Julian Beale

Stephen Andrews

Agenda Item (3)

Election of Chairman of the Audit Committee Council Year 2015/16

The following nomination has been received to date:-

(i) Chairman of the Committee

Nominee Proposer Seconder

BS Dare Ray Theodoulou Len Wilkins

(END)